Congratulations to all this year's winners

A night of celebration for our Professional Services

The University’s Professional Services Recognition Awards were given out at a gala dinner on Thursday 22 June.  Winners were announced in eight categories, showing how colleagues are bringing the University’s values to life in their outstanding work.  

A record almost-800 votes were cast for the David Allen Hero/ine of the Year award, seeing Jon Barnes, Computer Development Officer in CLES being crowned the winner, and Samuel Garcia, from the Campus Services facilities team, as a close runner up. 

The gala dinner was sponsored by UPP, BidFood and Warwick Event Services.  Winners are listed below – follow the category link for a reminder of the achievements of all our finalists. 

Category Winner
Ambition   Rebecca Takeda-Frost - ESE / CEMPS
Challenge  Amy Campbell - Professional Services Cornwall (CLES)
Collaboration   Gemma Bartlett - Communications and Marketing Services / SSIS
Community   Anne-Marie Baker - HR Services
Impact Green Consultants team : Dawn Lees, Karen Gallagher, Steve Wallers, Jen Hardwick, Ian Osborne, Josie Turner, Jo McCreedie - ESE
Rigour  Paula Frost - Research Services
The Roddy Ross Award for Innovation  Charlotte Bailey - Professional Services Cornwall
The David Allen Hero/ine of the Year  Jon Barnes - Exeter IT/CLES; runner up Samuel Garcia - Campus Services

Mike Shore-Nye, Registrar and Secretary, who hosted the gala dinner said: “Many congratulations to all this year’s winners.  You are an inspiration to me and all colleagues here with your positive contributions and commitment.  I was pleased to see a high number of nominations across the categories this year, and would like to thank everyone for participating. These awards are a fantastic way of recognising the outstanding contribution of our Professional Services colleagues, who are central to the University’s success.”

Linda Peka, Director of College Services and College Registrar, who chaired the organising committee said: “Congratulations to the winners, shortlisted finalists and all who were nominated this year.  Many thanks to our judging panels, who had an extremely hard job deciding between so many strong nominations. All the colleagues nominated demonstrate our values so well so we’ll be celebrating their achievements throughout the year as well as on the awards night.”

Date: 22 June 2017