Lacrosse captain and Sports Scholar Emily Zaborski won the Sports Personality of the year award.

AU awards recognise sporting achievement

The Athletic Union has paid tribute to the University of Exeter’s top student athletes in a glitzy awards ceremony at Exeter Castle on 1 May.

AU President Joe Batten played host to the black-tie event which welcomed some 500 representatives from across the University of Exeter’s 50 sports clubs. Awards were presented throughout the evening to students and clubs in a number of categories that praised outstanding achievement both on and off the field of play.

Joe said: “The AU awards is always one of the highlights of the sporting year for us and gives us an opportunity to pay homage to those who have excelled in their commitment and performance. Many of the awards are student voted, with other winners specially selected by us for their contributions. Our team members take great pride in putting on the green jersey and there is an unrivalled sense of community amongst all the sports clubs at Exeter. It has been a brilliant night, and the perfect climax to an exceptional year.”

It was a particularly good day for first team golf captain and Sports Scholar Laurie Potter, who not only picked up Sportsman of the year on the night but also saw his side clinch the British Universities and Colleges Sport Championship in Lancashire earlier in the day. England international Amber Reed received the award of Sportswoman of the year, with her BUCS Championship winning rugby side also taking the team award.

Men’s Cricket also had a successful night, the club taking the media award for their campaign to win a place in the 2013 Ashes computer game, and first year Sports Scholar Tom Abell taking Fresher of the Year. Meanwhile, Lacrosse’s Emily Zaborski scooped Sports Personality whilst Alex Calver took Team Captain of the year for his efforts with the club’s first team. Club captain of the year went to Snowsports’ Alex Giblin, the club also picking up the Club Development award.

It has been a fantastic year for sport at the University with the institution currently lying fifth in the British Universities and Colleges Sport League table, two places higher than the previous year.

Director of Sport Phil Attwell presented the prestigious award of club of the year which went to the Student Tennis Club. The club have enjoyed a successful year with Captain Yvanna Kurlak representing Great Britain students in December and the ladies first team also reaching the BUCS Championship finals.

Phil said: “The Tennis Club have done an exceptional job this year, not only in terms of competition but also in the amount of training and social activities that they offer to their members. The University has invested a lot in sport over the last 10 years and it is incredibly satisfying to see such a high return; Exeter has well and truly established itself as one of the top ten sporting universities in the UK. Tonight we have tried to recognise the efforts of some of our sporting stars but we must remember that we wouldn’t have enjoyed such success this year without the hard work and dedication of all our student athletes.”


List of Winners:

  • Club Development award: Snowsports
  • Best Media award: Men's Cricket
  • Non-BUCS club of the year: Canoe
  • Team Captain of the year: Alex Calver (Men's Lacrosse 1st Team)
  • Treasurer of the year: Jess Collins (Rowing)
  • Club Captain of the year: Martin Giblin (Snowsports)
  • Club of the year: Tennis
  • Sportsman of the year: Laurie Potter (Golf)
  • Sportswoman of the year: Amber Reed (Women's Rugby)
  • Fresher of the year: Tom Abell (Men's Cricket and Hockey)
  • Team of the year: Women's Rugby
  • Volunteer of the year: Nicky Savill
  • Sports Personality of the year: Emily Zaborski (Lacrosse)
  • Student Coach of the year: Tim Chilvers
  • Bruce Coleman award: David Rogal (Rowing)

Date: 2 May 2013