Bradley Miles, Student Coach of the year nominee.

AU Awards Dinner 2015

The 2015 AU Dinner awards provided the perfect opportunity for students to celebrate all the sporting achievements over the last academic year. Attended by over 550 students of the AU, Wednesday 27th May saw Exeter Castle taken over by the Green army to remember another successful year of sport.

Students were welcomed with champagne and live music from the extremely sort after acapela group Semi-Toned, before team photos and making their way to their tables. 14/15 AU President, Andy Higham started the evening off giving thanks to many of the AU sponsors and clubs in attendance before sitting down to the first course. With full stomachs and the evening in full swing the first set of awards began.



Club Development

Boxing Club, EUABC

Achievements in media

Snowsport, Val Thorens Edit

Volunteer of the Year

Ben Andrews

Student Coach of the Year

Rhian Bethell

Experience Sport Club of the Year

Riding Club

Non-BUCS Activity


Team Captain of the Year

Sophy Coombe Roberts

Treasurer of the Year

Will Baker

Bruce Coleman Contribution to Sport

Richard Carter

It was time then for a short interval where guests got to enjoy their desserts and winners celebrate awards with their clubs. With the acapela group watching, it was then time for the AU clubs to test their singing voices with the traditional rendition of ‘Robbie Williams – Angels’. Emotion in the room and many final years singing at the top of their voice, you could almost feel the contemplation of Masters Applications amongst the crowd. Finding their seats, which proved more difficult for some than you might think, it was time for the second set of awards.



Club Captain of the Year

Joash Clarkson/ George Butcher

Fresher of the Year

Sam Skinner

Sports Personality of the Year

Josh Callander

Sportswoman of the Year

Kathryn Lane

Sportsman of the Year

Ike Ogbo

Team of the Year


Club of the Year

Mens Rugby Union

This brought a close to the awards and it was Mens Rugby Union who took home the prestigious ‘Club of the Year’. This year EURFC 1XV won the Southern Premiership for the first time in 15 years, with the 3rdXV also winning the BUCS Trophy for the second year running. With 8 teams competing weekly in BUCS catering for all levels of rugby, EURFC deserved the title of Club of the Year.

Director of Rugby Keith Fleming stated ‘It has been a good year for EURFC, with all levels of the club doing great things. The 1XV achieved something that hasn’t been done in a very long time winning the league and our 3rd team, made up of solely fresher’s, went on to win the BUCS trophy. Beating a number of university 1st teams along the way. We also entered 2 more Fresher’s sides this year in BUCS which allowed a lot more rugby to be played. Selecting for 8 teams every week can be a tough job but I’m happy we can provide so many playing opportunities for our members.’  

With the awards all completed and the evening coming to a close the firework display began.

Alison Davidson, Director of Sport said ‘The AU dinner was a fantastic celebration of all our 49 sporting clubs and one of our most successful years, performance wise. The evening showcased the camaraderie and support that our athletes show for one another and made all the staff immensely proud to be part of Exeter Sport.’

Congratulations to all those who won awards and thank you to all who attended. The evening was a great success. 49 clubs, one colour! #BLEEDGREEN

For more information about the University of Exeter Student Sports Clubs or becoming a supporter please contact Chris Doody on 01392 725626 or


Date: 1 June 2015