Skip to main content
Colours Main Body 16/17

Simon Linsell - Presented the John Dunford award

AU Colours & Awards 16/17

Last night saw the University of Exeter’s top athletes from across the Athletic Union come together for the 16-17 AU Colours & Awards ceremony. With over 130 Athletes in attendance and senior university staff including, Nicholas Bull, Mike Shore-Nye & Professor Tim Quine there to present the awards, it really was a fantastic evening to celebrate the sporting success across the academic year.

The AU Colours & Awards ceremony began in 1947 and continues to be a highlight on the events calendar for sporting success each year. It recognises individuals, not only for their sporting achievements but also their outstanding contributions towards their clubs. The three tiers of awards are categorised into:

Club Award – A Club Award may be awarded to a member who has given outstanding service and commitment to their club.

Club Colours – Club Colours are awarded for exceptional achievement within their sport, including national student representation or another representative appearance.

University Colours – University Colours shall normally (but not automatically) be awarded to AU members who have gained full, U21 International (at a World level event) or British Students (at EUSA, EUGS, WUCS, WUGS level) representation, while regularly representing the university at the highest level and performing with unusual distinction.

There were several league wins across all levels of BUCS competition with the women’s Waterpolo 1st team being one of the highlights winning their league (Western 1A), the trophy and securing promotion into Premier South for the 2017-2018 season. Similarly, the Golf mixed 2nd team sealed the league and trophy double.  Premier league wins included Women’s Hockey 1st team, golf mixed 1st team & Women’s lacrosse 1st team. Men’s Basketball, Futsal, Fencing, Men’s Football, Golf, Women’s Hockey, Netball, Squash and Table Tennis all picking up conference wins in their respective leagues.

Notable recipients included Jack Maunder who has represented Exeter Chiefs in the Premiership this season and recently received a call up for England Seniors for their summer Argentina tour and is the youngest member of the squad. The U21 men’s hockey trio of Will Carter-Keall, Dan Jackson and Sam Hooper along with women’s hockey Meg Crowson have selection for the U21 European Championships. Poppy Leitch, Cat McNaney and Jeanine Stephenson hope to build on their Women’s Rugby U20s successes earlier this year and make the transition to the senior squad in the future.

Simon Linsell EURFC 1st team captain, who led the team to 2nd place in the 1st year of the BUCS Super Rugby League and to the Twickenham final picked up the John Dunford men’s rugby player of the year award. This award is named in honour of an Exeter alumnus, John Dunford. John was an integral member of the 1st XV squad during his time at Exeter and captained the team from 1950-52. John remained heavily involved with the University into his 70’s in teaching and research capacities. John sadly passed away three years ago but we have honoured him and his contribution to sport at the University by renaming the Men’s Rugby Player of the Season award as the John Dunford Award. 

Keith Director of Rugby who presented the award commented: “This award is a great honour for any clubman who receives it. Simon has been an integral part of the 1XV squad this year and at times has carried a lot of pressure on his shoulders, despite one shoulder being held together by tape. He has represented EURFC both on and off the field and has been the perfect example of what Exeter rugby is all about.”


Club Award:

Cameron Wilkinson (American Football),Francis Annandale (American Football), Ian Balfour (American Football), Jordan Robertson (American Football), George Robinson (Badminton), Cat Holst (Boxing), Emily Wall (Cheerleading and Gymastics), Hollie Savage (Cheerleading and Gymnastics), George Barham (Clay Shooting), Will Kneeshaw (Clay Shooting), Alex Barras (Men's Cricket), Henry Sensecall (Men's Cricket), Michael Harris (Men's Cricket), David Parfitt (Fencing), Harry Angus (Fencing), Jack Kewley (Men's Football), Jim Balshaw (Men's Football), Tom Bateson (Men's Football), Chloe Bland (Women's Football), Alex Moon (Golf), Harry Judd (Golf), Ross Williamson (Golf), Stuart Patrick (Golf), Charlie Speller (Men's Hockey), Marcus Cole (Men's Hockey), Matthew Rose (Men's Hockey), Sean Holmes (Men's Hockey), Rebecca Cadwallader (Women's Hockey), Anna Craston (Lacrosse), Charlotte Goosey (Lacrosse), Harrison Kruger (Lacrosse), Flora Munro (Netball), Rhiannon Phillips (Netball), Sian Seccombe (Netball),  Antonia Riley (Riding), Nicole Davis (Riding), Veronika Rollova (Riding), Hannah Jay (Rifle), Harry Percival (Rifle), Matt Jeffery (Rifle), Alexander Robey (Rowing), Imogen Pike (Rowing), Oliver Martin (Rowing), Theo Rhodes (Men's Rugby Union), Chloe Abbot (Women's Rugby), Kate Wilderspin (Women's Rugby), Belle Body (Sailing), Will Roberts (Sailing), Lauren Fry (Snowsports), Rob Bourne (Snowsports), Jodie Koep (Squash), Justine Leadbetter (Squash), Katherine Jensen (Squash), Will Sargeant (Squash), Alex Winter (Swimming), Lydia Smith (Swimming), Robert Whitehorn (Table Tennis), Sam Francis (Table Tennis), Jack Large (Tennis), Matthew Grover (Tennis), Jess Wimble (Trampoline), Katherine Hodge (Trampoline), Hannah Brown (Triathlon), Isabel Cole (Triathlon), Oliver Thorogood (Triathlon), Alex Murrell (Water Polo), Alice Carr (Water Polo), Ben Simkins (Water Polo), George Sadler (Water Polo), Harry Divall (Water Polo), Sarah Philipson (Water Polo), Callum Smith (Windriders), Henry Dawson (Windriders)

Club Colours:

Matt Blandford (Athletics), Lucy Andrews (Cheerleading and Gymnastics), Jonathan Burden (Men’s Cricket), Emma Cockcroft (Cycling), Max Stedman (Cycling), Alexandra Fitton (Fencing), Alex Saunders (Golf), Claudia Ovens (Golf), Daniel Lane (Golf), Harrie Llewellyn (Golf), Jack Pope (Golf), Jacobo Cobanzon (Golf), Nicolas Gutierrez-Colomer (Golf), Tom Watson (Men's Hockey), Katie Taverner (Women's Hockey), Charlie Knight (Karate), Julen Bilbao (Karate), Samantha Riddell (Karate), Amelia Ruiz (Lacrosse), Katie Butcher (Lacrosse), Hannah Blackman (Netball), Jason Pepara-Hibbert (Rifle), Isabel Lingard (Rowing), Seun Olusanya (Rowing), Jack Owlett (Men's Rugby), Matt Eliet (Men's Rugby), Sam Skinner (Men's Rugby), Simon Linsell (Men's Rugby), Tom Lawday (Men's Rugby), Clara Nielson (Women's Rugby), Nikita Frere-John (Women's Rugby), Charlotte Hooper (Sailing), Jess Hammett (Sailing), Laura Gilmore (Sailing), Laurence Carter (Sailing), Lewis Lane (Sailing), Ollie Grogono (Sailing), Scott Wallis (Sailing), Dom Wooldridge (Swimming), Dominic Brook (Touch Rugby), Libby Turner (Touch Rugby), Mark Aldous (Touch Rugby), Emre Cubucku (Water Polo)

University Colours:

Freya Davies (Women's Cricket), Laura Gladdish (Fencing), Emily Toy (Golf), Ben Francis (Men's Hockey), Dan Jackson (Men's Hockey), Sam Hooper (Men's Hockey), Will Carter-Keall (Men's Hockey), Megan Crowson (Women's Hockey), Alex Harper (Lacrosse), Diego Larraz (Lacrosse),Will Clarke (Lacrosse),Christina Shaw (Netball),Cameron Beer (Riding),Rachel Glover (Rifle),Susannah Duncan (Rowing),Edward Landray (Men's Rugby),Jack Maunder (Men's Rugby) ,James McRae (Men's Rugby),Lasha Jaiani (Men's Rugby),Cat McNaney (Women's Rugby),Jeanine Stephenson (Women's Rugby),Poppy Leitch (Women's Rugby),Daniel Budden (Sailing),James Hatcher (Sailing), Kieran Holmes-Martin (Sailing),Kirstie Urwin (Sailing),Matt Barton (Sailing),Morgan Peach (Sailing), Tarra Gill-Taylor (Sailing), Emma Pickens (Ultimate Frisbee), Edward Poultney (Snooker and Pool), Nathan Owen (Snooker and Pool)

Date: 26 May 2017